Elms Voight and Molin Take Top NECC Women's Soccer Honors

Elms Voight and Molin Take Top NECC Women's Soccer Honors

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Elms College leads the way in the New England Collegiate Conference All-Conference honors for women’s soccer. The Blazers junior, Brie Voight was tabbed 2016 NECC Player of the Year, while rookie Rebecca Molin earned Goalkeeper of the Year honors.

Voight led to conference with 27 points in NECC play off of ten goals and seven assists. Her offense was a vital part of the Blazer success tallying four of the nine game winning goals in conference play. 

Rookie Rebecca Molin earned Goalkeeper of the Year honors after a breakout season for the Blazers. Molin finished the season allowing just one goal in over 800 minutes of play, while also leading the conference in save percentage (.929).

Rookie of the Year honors went to Southern Vermont’s Danielle Biggers who helped the Mountaineers to a fourth place regular season finish. The freshman had 13 points in conference play on six goals and one assist to rank 9th in the conference standings. 

Joining Voight and Molin with All-Conference First Team honors were defenders Kathleen Tuechler, Silvana Tellerico, and midfielder Jackie Soucia. Tuechler and Tellerico were an important part of the strongest defense in the conference, while Socia added three goals and seven assists for 13 points in NECC play.

Elms Coach Sean Milbier was named the 2016 NECC Coach of the Yearin All-Conference balloting by a vote of his peers. Milbier had an impressive season leading the Blazers to their first conference title since 2011 and finishing with a record of 18-3-1.

Biggers Southern Vermont teammate, Molly Madore also earned NECC All Conference First Team honors after a strong year for the Mountaineers. The reigning Rookie of the Year continued to help her team both offensively and defensively throughout the season.

Lesley University placed five members on the All-Conference First Team after finishing both second in the regular season and post season tournament. The Lynx were led by juniors Samantha Turnbull, Karlie Rubin, andJordan Mitchell. Rubin finished conference play second in overall points with 22 (8g, 6a), while Mitchell added 17 points (6g,5a) of her own this season. Lesley sophomore Samantha Bessey earned first team honors as a forward tallying two game winning goals in conference play and 13 total points.

See below for the full list of All Conference Honors:

Player of the Year: Brie Voight, Elms (Jr., F, Springfield, Mass.)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Rebecca Molin, Elms (Fr., GK, West Hardford, Conn.)
Rookie of the Year: Danielle Biggers, Southern Vermont (Fr., M/F, Bronx, N.Y.)
Coach of the Year: Sean Milbier, Elms

All Conference First Team

Rebecca Molin, Elms (Fr., GK, West Hardford, Conn.)
Jackie Soucia, Elms (Jr., M, Blechertown, Mass.)
Silvana Tellerico, Elms (Jr., D, Southington, Conn.)
Kathleen Tuechler, Elms (Sr., D, Faringdale, N.Y.)
Brie Voight, Elms (Jr., F, Springfield, Mass.)
Samantha Bessey, Lesley (So., F, Algonquin, Ill.)
Jordan Mitchell, Lesley (So., M, Sachse, Texas)
Karlie Rubin, Lesley (Jr., M, San Diego, Calif.)
Hope Seasholes, Lesley (Fr., M, Tucson, Ariz.)
Samantha Turnbull, Lesley (Jr., D, Holtsville, N.Y.)
Molly Madore, Southern Vermont (So., M, Higganum, Conn.)

All Conference Second Team

Lindsey Keith, Becker (So., F, Sutton, Mass.)
Ciara McKissick, Becker (So., M, Charlton, Mass.)
Stephanie Evans, Daniel Webster (So., GK, Washington, Iowa)
Mackenzie Larochelle, Elms (Jr., M, Chicopee, Mass.)
Maddy Kelly, Lesley (Jr., D, San Jose, Calif.)
Tori Ramirez, Lesley (Sr., M/F, Redwood City, Calif.)
Tiana Edwards, Mitchell (Jr., D, Hartford, Conn.)
Shannon Walsh, Newbury (Jr., F, Massapequa, N.Y.)
Hannah Bouvette, Regis (Sr., D, Mattapoisett, Mass.)
Rachel Kelly, Regis (Fr., M, Whitman, Mass.)
Taylor Mallett, Southern Vermont (Fr., D/M, Berwick, Maine)

All Conference Third Team

Jailinne Ruiz, Bay Path (So., F, Hadley, Mass.)
Kyrsten Thibodeau, Bay Path (Jr., D/M, Dalton, Mass.)
Meghan Bealka, Becker (Jr., M/D, Freetown, Mass.)
Maria Colon, Becker (Jr., M, Wharton, N.J.)
Angelina Estrada, Elms (Jr., F, Springfield, Mass.)
Rachel Mick, Elms (Sr., M, Granby, Mass.)
Kelsey Shea, Elms (So., M, Belchertown, Mass.)
Elizabeth Kia, Newbury (Sr., D, Kea’au, Hawaii)
Noelle Garcia, Regis (Fr., D/M, Los Angeles, Calif.)
Jenna Novio, Regis (So., D, Rockland, Mass.)
Melissa Mascari, Southern Vt. (Jr., GK, Saratoga Springs, N.Y.)

All Sportsmanship Team
Jailinne Ruiz, Bay Path (So., F, Hadley, Mass.)
Jordyn Martel, Becker So., GK, Chicopee, Mass.)
Amanda Dargie, Daniel Webster (Jr., M, Melbourne, Fla.)
Antriese Suarez, Elms (Fr., GK, Amherst, Mass.)
Kyra Harbus, Lesley (So., D, Ventura, Calif.)
Lindsay Noble, Mitchell (Sr., D, Cromwell, Conn.)
Elizabeth Kia, Newbury (Sr., D, Kea’au, Hawaii)
Kara Carchedi, Regis (Fr., D, Quincy, Mass.)
Sydnee Julian, Southern Vermont (So., D/M, Mexico, N.Y.)
Rachael Simpson, Wheelock (Jr., M, Littleton, Mass.)