Mitchell's Murtha, Wheelock's Lewis, and Regis' Anselmo Each Earn Major NECC Honors

Mitchell's Murtha, Wheelock's Lewis, and Regis' Anselmo Each Earn Major NECC Honors

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Mitchell's Ashley Murtha's record breaking season garners her NECC Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year Accolades.

Senior Murtha finished her collegiate career on a high note, tallying 71 total points on 69 goals and two assists in conference play. The South Widnsor, Conn. native averaged a NCAA record 7.9 goals per game, 8.6 in NECC contests.

Wheelock's Meghan Lewis earned 2017 Goalkeeper of the Year honors after leading the conference with a save percentage of 58.4. The senior finished with 87 saves on the season, allowing 7.69 goals per game.

NECC Rookie of the Year honors went to Regis' Kerri Anselmo, who finished third in the conference with 38 points during NECC play. The rookie tallied 29 goals and added 11 assists in the eight NECC games this season to help the Pride to their fifth straight NECC title. Pride head coach, Courtney Duggan was named the NECC Coach of the Year leading her team to an NCAA appearance with a record of 15-4 this season.

Joining Lewis on the NECC First team for Wheelock is Katie Frade,Colleen Macdonald, andViolet Vig. Frade and Macdonald shared the offensive load throughout the season with 38 and 37 points respectively. Frade's 38 points on 29 goals and nine assists landed her fourth in the NECC, while Macdonald's 31 goals was third in the conference. Violet Vig was apart of a strong defense that allowed just 7.69 goals per game for third in the NECC.

Anselmo was joined on the All-NECC First team by classmate Maddy Rodriguez. The defender was a vital part of the top defense in the conference, allowing just 31 goals in eight conference contests.

Representing Southern Vermont on first team is seniors Emily Lesure and Mel Orrell. Lesure led the Mountaineers to the NECC semifinals with 38 conference points on the season. Orell, the reigning NECC Player of the Year, tallied 32 points for the 2017 NECC season good for tenth in the conference.

The final three All-NECC First team members were Kaylee Herring from Bay Path University, Rachel Adams from Becker College, and Jackie Soucia from Elms College. Junior Herring collected 39 points on 34 goals and five assists in NECC play to lead the Wildcats back to the NECC playoffs. Sophomore Adams had a strong season for the Hawks causing a team high 17 turnovers while collecting 35 ground balls for Becker. Junior Soucia was a vital presence for the Blazers throuhgout the season. The midfielder helped Elms earn a spot in the NECC Championship game, with strong numbers across the board including 13 goals, nine assists, and 28 ground balls.

See below for a full list of All-Conference Honorees:

Player of the Year: Ashley Murtha, Mitchell College
Goalkeeper of the Year: Meghan Lewis, Wheelock College
Rookie of the Year: Kerri Anselmo, Regis College
Coach of the Year: Courtney Duggan, Regis College

All Conference First Team

A – Kaylee Herring, Bay Path (Jr., Worcester, Vt.)
A – Ashley Murtha, Mitchell (Sr., South Windsor, Conn.)
A – Kerri Anselmo, Regis (Fr., Natick, Mass.)
A – Emily Lesure, Southern Vermont (Sr., Cheshire, Mass.)
M – Jackie Soucia, Elms (Jr., Belchertown, Mass.)
M – Mel Orrell, Southern Vermont (Sr., Gloucester, Mass.)
M – Katie Frade, Wheelock (Jr., Dartmouth, Mass.)
M – Colleen Macdonald, Wheelock (So., Sandwhich, Mass.)
D – Rachel Adams, Becker (So., Leominster, Mass.)
D – Maddy Rodriguez, Regis (Fr., Amherst, Mass.)
D – Violet Vig, Wheelock (Sr., Glastonbury, Mass.)
GK – Meghan Lewis, Wheelock (Sr., South Berwick, Maine)

All Conference Second Team

A – Vanessa Vurno, Elms (So., Salem, Conn.)
A – Haley Richard, Elms (Fr., Monson, Mass.)
A – Taylor Assarian Regis (So., Arlington, Mass.)
A – Georgia Schindele, Wheelock (So., Sparkill, N.Y.)
M – Elena Helming, Bay Path (Jr., Maplewood, N.J.)
M – Kathleen Tuechler, Elms (Sr., Farmingdale, N.Y.)
M – Linsay Bumila, Regis (Jr., Raynham, Mass.)
M – Lauren Nesshoever, Southern Vermont (Sr., Chittenden, Vt.)
D – Megan Mackie, Bay Path (So., APO,/AE)
D – Samantha Carter, Becker (Fr., Boothbay, Maine)
D – Kaeleigh Dowe, Elms (Sr., Somers, Conn.)
GK – Meeghan O'Connor, Elms (Sr., Fall River, Mass.)

All Conference Third Team

A – Taryn Flebbe, Becker (So., Neptune, N.J.)
A – Madeline Roulier, Daniel Webster (Sr., Pittsfield, Mass.)
A – Janis Christian, Elms (Fr., Westfield, Mass.)
A – Alecia Keesee, Elms (Fr., Westfield, Mass.)
M – Dallas Jackson, Bay Path (Sr., Springfield, Mass.)
M – Meghan Bealka, Becker (Jr., Freetown, Mass.)
M – Cassandra Nelson, Becker (Fr., Exeter, N.H.)
M – Brooke Ross, Regis (Fr., Hanover, Mass.)                                                                            
D – Jordyn Martel, Becker (So., Chicopee, Mass.)
D – Sydnee Julian, Southern Vermont (So., Mexico, N.Y.)
D – Rachel Danis, Wheelock (Jr., Underhill, Vt.)
GK – Maresa Malcolm, Regis (Jr., Barrington, N.J.)

All Sportsmanship Team

Raquel Neary, Bay Path (Sr., D, Revere, Mass.)
Jordyn Martel, Becker (So., D, Leominster, Mass.)
Delaney Ruiz, Daniel Webster (Fr., D, Meriden, Conn.)
Arianna Santiago-Sullivan, Elms (Jr., M, Willimantic, Conn.)
Willeen Pun, Mitchell (Sr., D, Stamford, Conn.)
Keely Molloy, Newbury (Fr., GK, Staten, Island, N.Y.)
Emma Dagesse, Regis (Sr., D, Rockland, Mass.)
Stephany Ferreira, Southern Vermont (So., M, Shelton, Conn.)
Gabrielle Haywood, Wheelock (Jr., D, East Longmeadow, Mass.)