NECC Announces 2019 Men's Track and Field Postseason Awards

NECC Announces 2019 Men's Track and Field Postseason Awards

MARSHFIELD, Mass. –  The NECC announced its 2019 Men's Track and Field All-Conference teams and major award winners on Thursday afternoon. The awards were voted on by the conference's five coaches following the conclusion of the NECC Championship meet. NECC Champions Newbury College and Eastern Nazarene College dominated the All-Conference selections as their programs combined to win 17 of the 19 events.

Newbury sophomore Geralson Withrow (Mystic, Conn.) was voted the 2019 NECC Track Athlete of the Year, while his teammate Jarrod Smith (Watertown, N.Y.) was named Field Athlete of the Year. Nighthawks' Head Coach, Henry Morales earned Coach of the Year accolades by a unanimous vote of his peers after leading Newbury to a conference championship. 

Eastern Nazarene's Travelis Mosely (Pomano Beach, Fla.) earned Rookie of the Year accolades after strong performances in four events for the Lions on the weekend.

The NECC's top performers in each event at the Championship meet earned All-Conference accolades. 

NECC Track Athlete of the Year – Geralson Withrow, Newbury (So., Mystic, Conn.) 

Newbury sophomore Geralson Withrow posted an incredible performance at the NECC Championships. The distance runner took home three individual first place finishes while also playing a role in the Nighthawks 4x800 relay team. Withrow took first in the 800m run with a time of 2.12.12, 5000m at 17:50.19 and the 10k with a time of  36:45.71. The relay quartet finished first at 9:05.15. Withrows performances help lead the Nighthawks to claim the 2019 NECC Title.

NECC Field Athlete of the Year – Jarrod Smith, Newbury (Sr., Watertown, N.Y.) 

Senior Jarrod Smith posted a strong performance at the 2019 NECC Championships. The senior finished strong with four Top-10 finishes in the field. Smith took home first place in the triple jump 
at 9.96 meters followed by a third place finish in the high jump at 1.65 meters. Smith carried on in the field taking third in the long jump registering a 5.35m mark finishing the day with a sixth plce finish at discus with a 22.03 meter mark.

NECC Track and Field Rookie of the Year – Travelis Mosely, Eastern Nazarene (Fr., Pomano Beach, Fla.) 

First year, Travelis Mosely posted an impressive rookie campaign at the NECC Championships. The sprinter took home two individual first place finishes while taking part in both the Eastern Nazarene 4x100 and 4x400 relay teams. Mosely started the day finishing first in the 100m run registering a time of 11.34 followed by a top performance in the 200m sprint with a time of 22.77. The first year then joined the 4x100 relay who took first at 44.28 followed by a 3.41.38 mark in the 4x400.

Coach of the Year – Henry Morales, Newbury

Newbury Head Coach, Henry Morales helped lead the Nighthawks to victory at the 2019 NECC Championships. Newbury claimed a total of 244 points as the league's top finisher in the Alliance Championship with the NECC/GNAC/NAC, coming in eighth overall with 28 total points against the other two conferences.



2019 Men's Track & Field All-NECC Team

100-meter: Travelis Moseley, Eastern Nazarene College

200-meter: Travelis Moseley, Eastern Nazarene College

400-meter: Andrew Kalombo, Newbury College

800-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College 

1500-meter: Kevin Rodrigues, Eastern Nazarene College

5000-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College 

10000-meter: Geralson Withrow, Newbury College 

110-meter Hurdles: Joel Piercey, Eastern Nazarene College

400-meter Hurdles: Jarrod Smith, Newbury College

3000-meter Steeplechase: Anthony Crocco, Newbury College

4x100-meter Relay: Eastern Nazarene College; Ralph Tima, Travelis Moseley, Jaeden Ortiz, Shawn Wright

4x400-meter Relay: Eastern Nazarene College; Jaeden Ortiz, Ralph Tima, Kevin Rop, Travelis Moseley,

4x800-meter Relay: Newbury College; Geralson Withrow, Anthony Crocco, Joan Guzman, David Jean

High Jump: Rory Dobbins, Newbury College

Long Jump: Mike Fleming, Lesley University

Triple Jump: Jarrod Smith, Newbury College

Shot Put: Robert Jean Charles, Elms College

Discus: Rory Dobbins, Newbury College

Javelin: Rene Lahens, Newbury College


2019 Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Matthew Mansaray, Eastern Nazarene College

Isaiah McKinley-Jones, Elms College

Will Erwin, Lesley University

Nicholas Luciano, Newbury College

Omar Santiago-Rodriguez, Southern Vermont College