NECC Announces Men's Soccer Major Awards and All-Conference Teams

NECC Announces Men's Soccer Major Awards and All-Conference Teams

MARSHFIELD, Mass. –  The NECC announced its 2018 Men’s Soccer All-Conference teams and major award winners on Tuesday morning. The awards were voted on by the conference’s nine coaches following the conclusion of the regular season. All nine of the conference schools are represented on the all-conference teams, with Newbury College leading the way with eight selections, as well as a sweep of the major awards.

Newbury’s Andrew Kalombo (Worcester, Mass.) was voted the 2018 NECC Player of the Year. His teammates Chris Tran (Nantucket, Mass.) and Warren Exceus (Boston, Mass.) were named Goalkeeper of the Year and Rookie of the Year, respectively. The Nighthawks’ head coach Bill Maddock was voted Coach of the Year by his peers.

Joining Exceus in the first-team forward slot are Felipe Campos (Barnstable, Mass.) from Dean College, and Babba Jaden (Clarkston, Ga.) of Elms College. Newbury had two midfield selections, Julius Davis (Philadelphia, Pa.) and Josue Lopez (San Diego, Calif.).  Eastern Nazarene College’s Edmilson Centeio (New Bedford, Mass.) and Mitchell’s Christian Urena (Griswold, Conn.) were also first team midfield honorees.  Player of the Year Andrew Kalombo headlines the defender position, where he is joined by his teammate Julio Arreola (San Diego, Calif.) Mitchell’s William Ferguson (Old Lyme, Conn.) rounds out the first team defender slots. Goalkeeper of the Year Chris Tran closes out the first team.

Dean placed two forwards on the second team in Paulo Corriea (Brockton, Mass.) and Davonn Smith (Lawrence, Mass.). They are joined by Newbury’s Kobe Barnes (Hartford, Conn.). Eastern Nazarene midfielder Connor Hudson-Bryant (Weymouth, Mass.) earned second team accolades, along with fellow midfielders Colby Macdonald of Elms (Bristol, Conn.), Rony Morales (Seekonk, Mass.) of Newbury and Cooper Valinski (Portsmouth, N.H.) of New England College. Valinski’s teammate Jackson Easter (Weare, N.H.) earned second team accolades as a defender, along with Elms’ Anthony Romei (Enfield, Conn.) and Lesley’s Max Fereira (Roseville, Calif.). Mitchell’s Seth Strader rounds out the second team in the goalkeeper position.   

Becker College is represented on the third team by forward Isaiah McCaskill (Springfield, Mass.), while Lesley’s Liam Perrine (Pleasantville, N.Y.) and New England College’s Kyle Clements (Weare, N.H.) join McCaskill as third team forwards. In the midfielder slot, Southern Vermont College’s Nick Langat (Silver Spring, Md.) represents his school. Becker’s Colby Koch (Norfolk, Mass.), Lesley’s Jack Wadleigh (Glastonbury, Conn.) and Mitchell’s Eduardo Tineo (Waterford, Conn.) fill the midfielder position. Mitchell also landed defender TJ Condon (North Stonington, Conn.) on the third team. Lesley’s Tiago Pacheco (Cranston, R.I.) and Carter Adams (Lebanon, N.H.) also garnered third team honors as defenders. Florian Resch of Eastern Nazarene was honored as the third team goalkeeper.  


NECC Player of the Year – Andrew Kalombo, Newbury (Jr., D, Worcester, Mass.)


Andrew Kalombo helped his team to an undefeated conference record (5-0-3) and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming Men’s Soccer Championship. The junior has been the cornerstone of a back line that has allowed only four goals to NECC opponents this season, for a 0.47 goals against average. Overall, Kalombo has been part of a defense that has allowed less than a goal per game this season to all opponents. His defensive prowess led to a program record eight shutouts this season.


NECC Goalkeeper of the Year – Chris Tran, Newbury (Jr., GK, Nantucket, Mass.)


Junior goalkeeper Chris Tran started in five conference games on the year, allowing only goal, while stopping 14 attempts. His .933 save percentage in conference games is tops in the league, as is his 0.20 goals against average. His overall goals against average of 0.57 is also the best in the league. Newbury recorded a program best eight shutouts this season, four of which belonged to Tran.


NECC Rookie of the Year – Warren Exceus, Newbury (Fr., F, Boston, Mass.)

In his rookie campaign, Newbury’s Warren Exceus netted three goals and four assists against NECC opponents, totaling 10 points. His efforts in conference play, helped lead the Nighthawks to a 5-0-3 conference record and the No. 1 Seed in the tournament. Newbury led the league in goals per game with 2.25 in conference play, and 1.76 overall, behind Exceus’ team-leading six goals and eight assists. The freshman’s eight overall assists is tops in the NECC. Exceus was a two-time NECC Rookie of the Week (weeks ending 10/1/18 and 10/22/18).


Coach of the Year – Bill Maddock, Newbury  


In his third season at the helm of the Nighthawks, Maddock led his squad to a 5-0-3 conference record. Overall, his team allowed less than one goal per game (0.96), while only allowing four goals in conference play. They also scored the most goals in the league, averaging 1.76 per game overall and 2.25 in conference play. The Nighthawks have clinched the No. 1 seed in the upcoming NECC Men’s Soccer Championship. This is Maddock's first NECC Coach of the Year award. 


First Team All-NECC

F – Felipe Campos, Dean (So., Barnstable, Mass.)  

F – Babba Jaden, Elms (Jr., Clarkston, Ga.)

F – Warren Exceus, Newbury (Fr., Boston, Mass.)

M – Edmilson Centeio, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., New Bedford, Mass.)

M – Christian Urena, Mitchell (Jr., Griswold, Conn.)

M – Julius Davis, Newbury (Jr., Philadelphia, Pa.)  

M – Josue Lopez, Newbury (Jr., San Diego, Calif.)  

D – William Ferguson, Mitchell (Jr., Old Lyme, Conn.)

D- Julio Arreola, Newbury (Jr., San Diego, Calif.)

D – Andrew Kalombo, Newbury (Jr., Worcester, Mass.)

GK – Chris Tran, Newbury (Jr., Nantucket, Mass.)


Second Team All-NECC

F- Paulo Corriea, Dean (Fr., Brockton, Mass.)

F- Davonn Smith, Dean (Fr., Lawrence, Mass.)

F- Kobe Barnes, Newbury (Fr., Hartford, Conn.)

M- Connor Hudson-Bryant, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., Weymouth, Mass.)  

M- Colby Macdonald, Elms (Sr., Bristol, Conn.)  

M- Cooper Valinski, New England Col. (Sr., Portsmouth, N.H.)

M- Rony Morales, Newbury (Fr., Seekonk, Mass.)

D – Anthony Romei, Elms (Sr., Enfield, Conn.)

D – Max Fereira, Lesley (Jr., Roseville, Calif.)  

D – Jackson Easter, New England Col. (Weare, N.H.)  

GK – Seth Strader, Mitchell (Jr., Preston, Conn.)


Third Team All-NECC

F- Isaiah McCaskill, Becker (Fr., Springfield, Mass.)

F- Liam Perrine, Lesley (So., Pleasantville, N.Y.)

F- Kyle Clements, New England Col. (Jr., Weare, N.H.)

M- Colby Koch, Becker (So., Norfolk, Mass.)

M- Jack Wadleigh, Lesley (So., Glastonbury, Conn.)

M- Eduardo Tineo, Mitchell (So., Waterford, Conn.)

M- Nick Langat, Southern Vermont (So., Silver Spring, Md.)

D- Tiago Pacheco, Lesley (Jr., Cranston, R.I.)

D- TJ Condon, Mitchell (Sr., North Stonington, Conn.)

D- Carter Adams, New England Col. (So., Lebanon, N.H.)

GK- Florian Resch, Eastern Nazarene (Fr., Stefan, Austria)


Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Bryan Vieira, Becker (Sr., Burlington, Mass.)

Bryce Antoch, Dean (Fr., Cranston, R.I.)  

Anson Thibault, Eastern Nazarene (So., Durham, N.H.)

Tyler Hesselton, Elms (So., Leicester, Mass.)  

Adam Valladares, Lesley (Sr., Farmington, N.H.)  

Mason Rubino, Mitchell (Fr., Griswold, Conn.)

Nathan Sprackland, New England Col. (Sr., Kingston, N.H.)

Stanley Elie, Newbury (Jr., Boston, Mass.)

Carlos Ponce, Southern Vermont (Fr., El Paso, Texas)