NECC Releases 2019 Men's Lacrosse Postseason Accolades

NECC Releases 2019 Men's Lacrosse Postseason Accolades

MARSHFIELD, Mass. -  The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced its 2019 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference teams and major award winners on Tuesday morning. The awards were voted on by the conference's four coaches following the conclusion of the regular season. New England College charged the way taking eight of the 12 spots along with three major awards.

New England College senior, Connor Fries (Barnstable, Mass.) was voted as the 2019 NECC Player of the Year while his teammate William Platt (San Francisco, Calif.) was named the Goalkeeper of the Year. In his rookie campaign, Dean's Louis Piccolo (Foxboro, Mass.) was voted on as the Rookie of the Year. New England College head coach, Jedd Brown closed out the major awards by being voted the 2019 NECC Coach of the Year by his peers.

Fries and Platt are joined on the All-Conference squad by teammates, Connor Smith (Oakland, Maine), Reilly Parker (Laesboro, Mass.), Reed Foster (Peabody, Mass.), David Benjamin (Wilmot, N.H.) Maxime Danis (Waterloo, Quebec) and Austin Frankel (Peabody, Mass.). Rookie of the Year, Piccolo earned a place on All-Conference and is joined by teammates Anthony Trasacco (Cheshire, Conn.) and Westley Reel (Lakeville, Conn.) while Mitchell's Kyle Marsh (Oakdale, Conn.) is the lone representative for the Mariners. 

2019 NECC Player of the Year – Connor Fries, New England College

Fries helped lead the Pilgrims to a 3-0 NECC record while going 7-8 overall earning a berth to the postseason. The senior leads the league in ground balls (112 overall, 30 in conference) as well as caused turnovers (52 overall, 13 in conference). Fries competed in 14 games this season as a long-stick midfielder but also racked up 12 overall points off of four goals and eight assists.

2019 NECC Goalkeeper of the Year – William Platt, New England College

Platt stuffed the stat sheet between the pipes this season helping lead the Pilgrims 7-8 (3-0 NECC) while earning a postseason berth. The goalkeeper leads the league in multiple categories including goals against average (10.06 overall, 6.40 NECC), save percentage (59.0) and goals against (16). The senior competed in all 15 games this season totaling 858:52 minutes in net. 

2019 NECC Rookie of the Year – Louis Piccolo, Dean

Piccolo posted an impressive rookie campaign helping lead the Bulldogs to a 7-5 (2-1, NECC) record while earning a postseason appearance. The first year posted 51 overall points this season, 16 being in conference off of 41 total goals and 10 assists. Piccolo led the NECC this season in man-up goals (5 overall, 3 NECC) while scooping up 30 groundballs and taking 129 shots in his 12 appearances.

2019 NECC Coach of the Year – Jedd Brown, New England College

With head coach Jedd Brown at the helm, the Pilgrims posted a 7-8 overall record while going undefeated in league play at 3-0 to earn the NECC No. 1 seed in the NECC/NAC Championship Alliance. New England College is the league leader in goals (165), assists (131), groundballs (554) and caused turnovers (191).


2019 NECC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

A - Anthony Trasacco, Dean

A - Connor Smith, New England College

A - Reilly Parker, New England College

M - Louis Piccolo, Dean

M - Kyle Marsh, Mitchell

M - Reed Foster, New England College

LSM – Connor Fries, New England College

D - David Benjamin, New England College

D - Westley Reel, Dean

D - Maxime Danis, New England College

FO – Austin Frankel, New England College

GK - William Platt, New England College

2019 Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Charles Hacking, New England College

Kobe Welch-Porter, Dean

Kent Jones, Mitchell

Jeffrey Schaeffer, Becker