Mitchell's Santiago Selected to All-Northeast Team

Mitchell's Santiago Selected to All-Northeast Team

NEW LONDON, Conn. – Mitchell College men's basketball player Domenico Santiago was named to the All-Northeast Region fourth team, as announced by the web site on Monday.

The senior center was one of 20 players in the region honored by the popular site, and the only one from the New England Collegiate Conference. He is the second player in school history to earn the distinction; Joshua Ford was a two-time all-region selection, earning second team honors in 2014 and fourth team honors in 2013.

Players were nominated by sports information directors at various schools, and a total of 716 players were nominated nationwide. Regional voting was then conducted among SIDs, who voted for a predetermined number of players in their region.

Santiago, the NECC Player of the Year, averaged team highs of 17.2 points and 13.2 rebounds per game in his final season. He led the NECC in rebounding and ranked fourth in the country in the category, and his league-high 18 double-doubles tied for sixth-most in the nation. 

Santiago led Mitchell to 19-10 overall record and the second conference title in school history. In the title game of the NECC Championship he grabbed a school record 25 rebounds en route to MVP honors. The Mariners earned an automatic berth in the NCAA Championship and faced sixth-ranked Swarthmore College in the first round on March 1. 

2019 All-Northeast Region

Player of the Year: Ty Nichols, F, Keene State
Coach of the Year: Danny Lawson, Emmanuel
Rookie of the Year: Delshawn Jackson Jr., G, St. Joseph (Conn.)

First Team
G - Jake Ross, Springfield, Jr., Northampton, Mass.
G - Kena Gilmour, Hamilton, Jr., New Paltz, N.Y.
G - Marcos Echevarria, Nichols, Sr., Lynn, Mass.
F - Bradley Jomard, MIT, Sr., Paris, France
F - Ty Nichols, Keene State, Sr., Springfield, Mass.

Second Team
G - Austin Coene, Roger Williams, Sr., Tyngsborough, Mass.
G - Grant Robinson, Amherst, So., McLean, Va.
G - Bobby Casey, Williams, Sr., Scranton, Pa.
G - Austin Hutcherson, Wesleyan, So., New York, N.Y.
F - Tim Roberts, MIT, Sr., Oak Bluffs, Mass.

Third Team
G - Carlos Gonzalez, Eastern Connecticut, Jr., Springfield, Mass.
G - Jack Farrell, Middlebury, So., Verona, N.J.
G - Brian Hogan-Gary, Johnson & Wales, Jr., Staten Island, N.Y.
G - AJ Jurko, MIT, Sr., Weston, Fla.
F - Adam Richardson, Maine Maritime, Sr., Bradley, Maine.

Fourth Team
G - DeAnte Bruton, Nichols, Jr., New London, Conn.
G - Keith Brown, Endicott, Jr., Pelham, N.H.
G - Sean Bryan, Salem State, Jr., Lowell, Mass.
F - James Heskett, Williams, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio
C - Domenico Santiago, Mitchell, Sr., Port St. Lucie, Fla.


Courtesy of Mitchell Sports Information