The 2009-‘10 NECC All-Conference Men’s Basketball Teams Announced

The 2009-‘10 NECC All-Conference Men’s Basketball Teams Announced

Maldonado, Young and Gorman Earn NECC Top Awards

2009-10 NECC All-Conference Full List in PDF

ATTLEBORO, Mass. - All eight of the sponsored programs were represented on 2010 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Men's Basketball All-Conference Team, it was announced today by Commissioner Del Malloy. In addition to the All-NECC honors, three separate major individual award winners and the team sportsmanship award were also voted upon and selected this week.

The Elms College Blazers' senior guard Juan Maldonado (Holyoke, Mass.), a social work major, was named the 2009-10 NECC Men's Basketball Player of the Year. In conference play, Maldonado finished fourth in scoring (17.1 ppg),  3rd in three-point field goals made (3.1 ppg), 2nd in three-point field goals percentage(.449), 15th  in field goal percentage (.466), 10th  in assists (2.9 apg) and 11th in steals (1.6 spg). In overall statistics, he is third in scoring (17.6 ppg), first in free throw percentage (.868), third in steals (2.2 spg), first in three-point field goal percentage (.462) and second in three-point field goals made (3.2 ppg). Early in the season, Maldonado became Elms' all-time leading scorer.

Newbury College Nighthawk freshman guard Tim Young (Brockton, Mass.) nabbed the 2009-10 NECC Men's Basketball Rookie of the Year for his first season of collegiate play. Young, a communications major, finished right behind Maldonado at fifth in conference scoring, averaging 16.9 points per game and second in three-point field goals made at 3.2 points per game.  Young led his team this season in scoring with 433 points. He received the NECC Rookie of the Week five times and was also named NECC Player of the Week once.

The Becker College Hawks (17-8) took top honors as they finished at the top of the conference with a 13-1 record.  The Hawks' head coach Brian Gorman was named the 2009-10 NECC Men's Basketball Coach of the Year. Gorman, who is in his third season with Becker, has a .578 winning percentage (52-30). Last season, he led the Hawks to the 2008-09 ECAC Men's Basketball Championship title.

The Mariners of Mitchell College, led by head coach Todd Peretz, were honored as the 2009-10 NECC Team Sportsmanship Award recipients. The Mariners finished with a 4-19 overall record and 3-11 in conference play.

Voting for the All-NECC team and each of the major awards was conducted among all NECC men's basketball head coaches.

Joining Maldonado on All-NECC First Team were Wheelock senior Sherard Robbins (Malden, Mass.), Daniel Webster junior Chris Hanson (Salem, Mass.), Becker junior Rajai Leggett (New Haven, Conn.) and Southern Vermont senior Joe Karnik (Castleton, N.Y.).

Second team honors went out to Southern Vermont junior Lance Spratling (Pittsfield, Mass.), Becker sophomore Terrance Favors (Boston, Mass.), Elms senior Javon Mathis (West Hartford, Conn.), Becker junior Trey Jacobs (Lexington Park, Md.) and Lesley junior Jesus Trejo (Methuen, Mass.).

Five players received honorable mention including Young, Elms forward Edgar Martinez (Springfield, Mass.), Mitchell senior Michael DePaolo (Asbury, N.J.), Lesley sophomore John Sanchez (Carson, Calif.) and Wheelock junior Dan Main (Hopedale, Mass.).

2009-10 NECC MENS BASKETBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Juan Maldonado, Elms, Senior, Guard (Holyoke, Mass.)
2009-10 NECC MENS BASKETBALL ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Tim Young, Newbury, Freshman, Guard (Brockton, Mass.)
2009-10 NECC MENS BASKETBALL COACH OF THE YEAR: Brian Gorman, Becker College

Juan Maldonado, Elms, Senior, Guard (Holyoke, Mass.)
Sherard Robbins, Wheelock, Senior, Center (Malden, Mass.)
Chris Hanson, Daniel Webster, Junior, Guard (Salem, Mass.)
Rajai Leggett, Becker, Junior, Forward (New haven, Conn.)
Joe Karnik, Southern Vermont, Senior, Forward (Castleton, N.Y.)

Lance Spratling, Southern Vermont, Junior, Guard (Pittsfield, Mass.)
Terrance Favors, Becker, Sophomore, Forward (Boston, Mass.)
Javon Mathis, Elms, Senior, Forward (West Hartford, Conn.)
Trey Jacobs, Becker, Junior, Center (Lexington Park, Md.)
Jesus Trejo, Lesley, Junior, Center (Methuen, Mass.)

Tim Young, Newbury, Freshman, Guard (Brockton, Mass.)
Edgar Martinez, Elms, Junior, Forward (Springfield, Mass.)
Michael DePaolo, Mitchell, Senior, Guard (Asbury, N.J.)
John Sanchez, Lesley, Sophomore, Guard (Carson, Calif.)
Dan Main, Wheelock, Junior, Forward (Hopedale, Mass.)


Juan Maldonado, POY

Tim Young, ROY Brian Gorman, COY Mitchell, Team Sportsmanship Award