Mitchell's Griffin, Newbury's Forrest, and Elms' Plasse Earn Top NECC Baseball Honors

Mitchell's Griffin, Newbury's Forrest, and Elms' Plasse Earn Top NECC Baseball Honors

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Mitchell College’s Garet Griffin has been named the 2017 NECC Baseball Player of the Year.

The Mariners shortstop finished leading three offensive categories for the NECC, batting average (.540), on base percentage (.569), and slugging percentage (.820). Griffin was also second in conference play with 27 hits and two homeruns on the season.

NECC Pitcher of the Year honors went to Ethan Forrest from Newbury College. The Nighthawks were led all season by Forrest who finished tallying 43 innings of work with an earned run average of just 2.09. The senior finished with the most wins in conference play at five while he pitched a complete game in five of his six conference appearances.

Pitcher Matt Plasse earned Rookie of the Year Honors after a breakout season for the Blazers. The righty went 4-1 in conference play with 35 innings of work. During that stretch Plasse finished with an ERA of just 1.80 allowing just seven earned runs in NECC play.

Lesley University’s Billy Cather was named the NECC Coach of the Year, as voted on by his peers. In just his fourth season with the Lynx Cather led the team to their first ever NECC Baseball Title as well as the most wins in school history, finishing with a record of 21-17-1.

Joining Griffin to represent the Mariners on the All-NECC First Team was Kyle Hartenstein and Francis Prettitore. Junior Kyle Hartenstein finished just behind Griffin for second in the NECC in batting average (.463) and on base percentage (.519), while earning the top spot in hits (31) and runs (23). Prettitore had a strong showing at first base this season with just one error on 165 total chances. The senior also led the NECC with 20 runs batted in during conference play.

Forrest was joined on the NECC First team by classmate Ian Hruniak. The senior outfielder was a presence at the plate all season for the Nighthawks, finishing third in on base percentage at .492, and landing fourth with a batting average of .404.

Elms College had three members in addition to Plasse receiving NECC First Team Accolades.The Blazers were patient at the plate throughout the season leading the NECC with 75 walks, while striking out just 60 times. Tim Gelzinis was third for the Blazers with eight walks for the season. Teammate Stephen Harrison finished fourth in NECC play with three homeruns, while landing eighth with 21 hits. The final member for the Blazers was freshman Jacob Graveline. The first year pitcher finished the NECC season with 32.1 innings pitched during which he tallied 26 strikeouts and earned three conference wins.

Representing Becker College on the NECC First Team was the reigning Rookie of the Year, Josiah Shepherd as well as senior Niko Bedell. Shepherd helped the Hawks make it back to the NECC tournament leading the team with 13 walks and 21 runs scored. Bedell was fourth in the NECC with a slugging percentage of .610 during conference play, while also leading the league with three homeruns.

Closing out the All-Conference First Team from Daniel Webster College Dan Mullins, and from Lesley University Tom Muratore. Sophomore Mullins led the Eagles in both hits (19) and runs batted in (14) for the 2017 season. Muratore was strong pitcher throughout the season for the Lynx finishing with four wins in six starts in the NECC. The senior also landed fourth in the conference with an ERA of 2.95.

See below for a full list of All-Conference Honorees: 

Player of the Year: Garet Griffin, Mitchell
Pitcher of the Year: Ethan Forrest, Newbury
Rookie of the Year: Matt Plasse, Elms
Coach of the Year: Billy Cather, Lesley 

All Conference First Team

1B – Francis Prettitore, Mitchell (Sr., Bayville, Conn.)
2B – Kyle Hartenstein, Mitchell (Jr., Meriden, Conn.)
3B – Tim Gelzinis, Elms (Sr., North Dighton, Mass.)
SS – Garet Griffin, Mitchell (Jr., Moosup, Conn.)
C – Dan Mullins, Daniel Webster (So., Nashua, N.H.)
P – Matt Plasse, Elms (So., Westfield, Mass.)
P – Jacob Graveline, Elms (Fr., Palmer, Mass.)
P – Tom Muratore, Lesley (Jr., Mamaroneck, N.Y.)
P – Ethan Forrest, Newbury (Sr., East Bridgewater, Mass.)
OF – Josiah Shepherd, Becker (Jr., Providence, R.I.)
OF – Stephen Harrison, Elms (Sr., Southbury, Conn.)
OF – Ian Hruniak, Newbury (Sr., Litz, Fla.)
DH – Niko Bedell, Becker (Sr., Manorville, N.Y.)

All Conference Second Team

1B – Ryan Pumphret, Lesley (So., Shrewsbury, Mass.)
2B – Vaibhav Desai, Becker (Sr., Waltham, Mass.)
3B – TJ Sempkowski, Becker (Oceanport, N.J.)
SS – Chris Testa, Becker (Jr., Providence, R.I.)
C – Jacob Cervantes, Lesley (So., Oxnard, Calif.)
P - Tyler Wagar, Becker (Sr., Uxbridge, Mass.)
P – Nick Ladevaio, Lesley (Jr., Mineola, N.Y.)
P – Axel De Jesus, Mitchell (Sr., Stratford, Conn.)
P – Eddie Santiago, Mitchell (Jr., New London, Conn.)
OF – Aedin Wadja, Elms (Sr., Lebanon, Conn.)
OF – Alex Hoss, Elms (So., Stafford Springs, Conn.)
OF – Tristan Hurley, Mitchell (Sr., Mystic, Conn.)
DH – Anthony Mercuri, Southern Vermont (Sr., Ridge, N.Y.)

All Sportsmanship Team

Michael Bianco, Becker (Fr., 3B, Manorville, N.Y.)
Dylan McDonough, Daniel Webster (Jr., C, Billerica, Mass.)
Cody Lemieux, Elms (Sr., P, Torrington, Conn.)
Aaron Rhodes, Lesley (Jr., INF, Chittenden, Vt.)
Mike Jason, Mitchell (Sr., OF, Chepachet, R.I.)
Jim McGrorry, Newbury (Jr., P/INF, Oakhurst, N.J.)
Jordan Banks, Southern Vermont (Fr., 1B, Bristol, Conn.)