October 5, 2010

Becker College Slated to Host 2010 NECC Golf Championships

ATTLEBORO, Mass.- The 2010 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Golf Championship is slated to take place this weekend beginning on Saturday, October 9th with a shot-gun start at 8:00 a.m. on the Leicester Country Club hosted this year by 2009 runners-up Becker College.

This is the third year for the two-day 36-hole event. Leicester Country Club is a par 70, 6,026 yard course that was founded at the end of the Civil War in 1864.

On Saturday, teams will be grouped by threesomes and foursomes via alphabetical order as per the NECC Golf Guidelines.  Sunday the groups will all tee off via results from Saturday at 8:00 a.m. with a shot-gun start.

There are seven NECC golf programs including full members' Becker College,  Daniel Webster College, Elms College, 2008 NECC runners-up Mitchell College and Newbury College; along with associate members' 2008 NECC Champions Springfield College and 2010 NECC Champions Babson College.

DAY 1 NECC Golf Groupings

Group #1                                             Babson 1; Becker 1; DWC 1; Elms 1
Group #2                                             Mitchell 1; Newbury 1; Springfield 1; Babson 2
Group #3                                             Becker 2; DWC 2; Elms 2; Mitchell 2
Group #4                                             Newbury 2; Springfield 2; Babson 3; Becker 3
Group #5                                             DWC 3; Elms 3; Mitchell 3; Newbury 3;
Group #6                                             Springfield 3; Babson 4; Becker 4; DWC 4; Elms 4
Group #7                                             Mitchell 4; Newbury 4; Springfield 4; Babson 5
Group#8                                              Becker 5; DWC 5; Elms 5
Group #9                                             Mitchell 5; Newbury 5; Springfield 5

2010 NECC Golf Championship Packet

2010 NECC Golf Championship Program

Information on Leicester Country Club: http://www.leicestercc.com/default.asp

Directions: http://www.leicestercc.com/directions.asp

Host NECC Institution: http://www.beckerhawks.com/sports/mgolf/index


2009 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Golf Champion: Babson (294-314=608)
2009 NECC Golf Runners Up: Becker (315-328=643)
3. Springfield (330-329=659)
4. Mitchell (348-335=683)
5. Elms (341-355=696)
6. Daniel Webster (361-368=729)
7. Newbury (404-435=839)

2009 NECC Golfer of the Year: Bryan Eger, Jr., Babson College
2009 NECC Golf Rookie of the Year: Branden Parkhouse, Fr., Becker College
2009 NECC Golf Coach of the Year: Brian Gorman, Becker College
2009 NECC Golf Team Sportsmanship Award: Becker College

2009 NECC Golf All-Conference First Team:
Bryan Eger, Babson College (JR)
Camilo Perlaza, Babson College (SO)
Ben Malone*, Becker College (SR)
Fernando Pineres, Babson College (SR)
Joseph Young, Babson College (SO)

2009 NECC Golf All-Conference Second Team:
Matt Foley, Babson College (JR)
Craig DiFranco*, Springfield College (JR)
Andrew Sullivan*, Elms College (JR)
Branden Parkhouse, Becker College (FR)
David Rixham, Becker College (FR)
David Pianki, Elms College (FR)
*Two-Year All-Conference Members

2008 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Golf Champions: Springfield (324-322=646)
2008 NECC Golf Runners Up: Mitchell (337-339=676)
3. Becker (350-333=683)
4. MIT (346-348=694)
5. Daniel Webster (365-339=704)
6. Elms (356-362=718)
7. Newbury (399-375=774)

2008 NECC Golfer of the Year: Greg Levings, Springfield, SR., Averill Park, N.Y., Major: Physical Education
2008 NECC Golf Rookie of the Year: Nick Swenson, MIT, FR.,Yorktown, Va., Major: Biomedical Engineering
2008 NECC Golf Coach of the Year: Joe Eadie, Springfield College
2008 NECC Golf Team Sportsmanship Award: Newbury College Nighthawks

2008 NECC Golf All-Conference First Team
Greg Levings, Springfield (SR)
Mike LaJoie, Springfield (SR)
Nick Swenson, MIT (FR)
Mike Lepore, Mitchell (FR)
Craig DeFranco, Springfield (SO)

2008 NECC Golf All-Conference Second Team
Matt Burke, Mitchell (FR)
Ben Malone, Becker (JR)
Ben Kwiatkowski, Elms (JR)
Andrew Sullivan, Elms (SO)
Ted Keith, MIT (SR)